- Standard View
Gray's Mill is one of the Country's oldest continually operated grist mills.
It was established before 1700 and documented by deed in 1717 as belonging to Philip Taber.
The mill was part of a blacksmith shop until 1750 when it became a grist mill. The millrace tunnels right under the mill.
In 1880 it was purchased by Philip S. Gray and since that time has been in the Gray family.
The old mill is still operating, selling their products, with a gift store and coffee shop on site.
Most of millpond is in Adamsville, Rhode Island across Adamsville Road/Sr 179 from the mill.
Gray's Mill Pond is fed from the West Branch of the Westport River.
In 1980, Ralph Guild, a New York City business man, who summers in Westport Harbor, bought the mill. Several runs of stones visible in photo, the left none hooked to the stones crane.
The stone crane, possibly corn meal stone set, and at far right, a Meadows Mill.
John Hart had one stipulation when he sold the mill: it must continue to be run as a working mill. A different view of the grindstone sets.
Two dedicated millers; Roland Grayton Hart and his Son, John Allen Hart, kept Gray's mill going non-stop for over 100 years. John Hart had over 62 years experience. Pictured are more mill related museum specimens: far left a corn sheller, close right possibly a cornstalk chopper.
A one pound cloth bag for Gray's Johnny Cake Corn Meal.GPS: 41° 33.33' N 71° 7.57' W ele 7'/2 meters Providence Quadrangle