- Standard View
The Stover Mill was contructed of Pennsylvania fieldstone by Henry Stover in 1832. Brothers, Isaac & Jacob Stover oversaw the opertion of the sawmill, while two other brothers, Henry Stover Jr. and Jordan H. Stover worked at grinding flour and corn meal in the grist mill. These Stover brothers were third generation millers. The sawmill ceased in the first decade of the 1900's, but the grist mill continued to operate, though leased to C.C. Byran & Son in 1902, grinding flour through 1933.
The grist mill was used for grain and flour storage from the 1930's until 1955. Two days a year, the mill is open to the public for tours which include an explaination of the milling operation from the stones on the first floor to the flour sifters on the third floor. Power was also utilized via a dynamo to provide electricity to the village of Erwinna in the early part of the 1900's.
An unusual mill in that it was powered directly from the Delaware River; a stream though not usually very deep, can and has periodically, usually during a hurricane, been known to flood dramatically. Two sets of steel turbines powered four sets of stones on the first floor milling wheat and corn. The water inlet is shown here.
Some very severe flooding occurred in the most recent past: Sept. 2004, April 2005, and June 2006. This view shows the outlet arch that allowed the Delaware River waters to reenter the river after spending their force to power the equipment.
A former section of the mill adjacent to the south along River Road and the Delaware River was the location of a sawmill, nothing left now except some stone walls along the shoreline. This is the area where the unique rocks are located.
An interesting rock, of which there are many, below the foundation walls of the ruined sawmill. In April through October, the first floor of the mill is open, free of charge, on weekends to those who want to view the art gallery, showcasing regional artists.
The mill was converted to an art gallery in the 1980's by the Tinicum Art Association after the mill was donated by Henry's grandson, John J. Stover to the Tinicum Civic Asso. in 1955. The Stover Mill is located at 852 River Road, Erwinna, Pa. Call 1-610-294-9420 for more information about the mill & the Tinicum Civic Association.
The millers house across the road was built by Isaac Stover in 1837 and continued to serve as their residence through the turn of the 20th century. The Second Empire mansard roof & dormers were added in the 1870's. Mansard roofs were popular in that the extra story created was not taxed. The home remained a private dwelling until it became a Bed & Breakfast in the 1980's. GPS: 40' 29.79'N, 75' 4.08'W Ele. 138'/42 meters Lumberville Quadrangle.
A close up of the front of the mill, where wagons would have pulled up to the doors and a rope/hoist pully arrangement attached to the catshead/over-head projection from the gable peak.
View Larger Map