- Standard View
One of the most photographed sites in the State of Arkansas, as well as the country, is the Old Mill in North Little Rock.
The mill was built in 1933, as a replica of an abandoned 1820 era stone mill.
The mill appeared in the opening scenes of "Gone With the Wind".
Native Mexico Citian, Dionicio Rodriguez, an Aztec decendent, built all of the elaborate concretes-work railing that look like wood. The water wheel is also concrete.
Inside the open air mill, the millstone frame is actually made of wood.
The sign pretty well describes the mill history.
The mill area from above the park area looking down past the mill and the concrete arch bridge with its concrete, tree-limb-like railings.
Concrete stone arch bridge in a closer view as it spans the spring that flows out in to the dammed up waterway to create Lakewood Lake #2.
Folks crossing the man-made concrete arch bridge crafted by Senor Rodriguez in 1933. The contrete creations have been renovated in the summer of 1991 by Carlos Cortez, Rodriguez's grandson.
One end of the decorative, almost natural-feeling arch across the spring waters.
A general overview from below and across the basin from the replica mill, still quite stunning even at the end of November.
Display sign highlighting the attraction. Frank Carmeanw was the architect for the mill and park, the artist was Senor Dionicio Rodriguez, and the Justin Matthews Company built the comlex.
The mill structure seen from the seldom viewed, at least in photos, opposite side.
The Old Mill was nationally recognized in 1986 by being placed on the National Register of Historic Places. Admission to The Old Mill is "free", and the hours of operation are from sunrise to sunset.