- Standard View
The mill, built in 1767 by Stoffel Wagner, was owned and operated by the Wagner family for about 200 years.
Nestled up against the original mill structure at a 90 degree angle and flush with the front of the original mill is a 25'X 35' addition of 2.5 stories and a gambrel/hip roof that connects right up against the peak roof of the main mill.
The headrace from the millpond as it approaches the rear of the original part of the old mill.
The inlet and exit of the race at the southeast corner of the main mill building.
This view of the addition shows the attachment of the one roof to the other.
The miller's house on the property owned by the Hellertown Historical Society and housing the same under its roof.
Canadian geese and mallard ducks frequenting the pond created near the Wagner Mill.
This photo shows the 1860 Walnut Street "Pony" Bridge, near its original location close to Saucon Creek across Walnut Creek from the mill. The bridge, repaired in 1950, is perhaps the last remaining cast & wrought iron bridge in North America.
Main mill structure is about 35'x55' fieldstone of 2.5 stories with a 2.5 story, 25'x35' addition to make an "L-shaped" total structure. The main mill and the addition both have three doors up to the catshead. The main is on the gable end while the addition has the doors on the dormer of the gambrel slate roof. In very good condition as of Nov. 1987 and being used as recreational hall. By 2007, the mill had been greatly restored as part of Hellertown Historical Society facilities in a small park setting.